More than 8 Miles of Peace

Less than a week ago, I went to Michigan to visit him. It was the most fun that I had experienced in an exceptionally long, long time. I needed that…my soul needed that and he nurtured my being. We took turns cooking breakfast, lunch and dinner during my visit and whoever cooked, the other washed the dishes. And as I dutifully took note of this each time, I was thankful and genuinely moved. This is how a partnership, relationship, or marriage should work—a team.

My second night there, he made drinks for us and we watched Kevin Hart’s Seriously Funny stand-up. He knows that the Lemon Drop martini is one of my favorite drinks so unbeknownst to me he had been perfecting his own recipe especially for me.  He had this cute glass that he poured my drink into from the shaker and I was thoroughly impressed. The Netflix comedy night was his idea which was a great one, but Katt Williams was not cutting it for me unfortunately. While he found mountains of reasons to laugh during It’s Pimpin’ Pimpin’, I was just not feeling it…at…all. After trying other Katt Williams stand-ups, we gave up. Here comes Kevin Hart to the rescue.  HILARIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I forgot how funny this stand-up was! We both laughed and for the first time in an exceedingly lengthy time frame, I laughed until it felt good and hurt at the same time. I desperately needed that.

Click here if you want to see some hilarious clips of Seriously Funny

The glass before the Lemon Drop
The Lemon Drop

Outside of that, on morning I awoke to breakfast in bed and it was yum! It looked so good that I took two pictures of it so that you could see what I had to eat from two different angles. Delectable!!! Oh and yeah, that’s kiwi for breakfast!  #JeanswithPockets

Breakfast in Bed 1
Breakfast in Bed 2

I experienced Mongolian food for the first time at BD’s Mongolian Grill in Dearborn, MI.  I must say, my food tasted good, but his food was off the chain. It’s an art form getting all the food you can get into a bowl and not have it topple over. I got an A on my first try! New Orleans baby! That’s how we do no matter where we are! Ha!

BD's Mongolian Grill

We also got to experience Inyo Restaurant and Lounge in Ferndale, MI.  The inside of the building was extremely pleasing to the eyes. There were not a lot of people present and the lights were low to create that ambiance feel that makes you often times drink more than you should, sit closer than normal to the person of the opposite sex that you are with and think about the latter part of well-known adage “a lady in the streets”.  The staff members are friendly. Jeff and Olivia are the best with the latter being the bartender. If you ever happen to visit the Detroit or Ferndale area, you may want to check them out. She makes bomb drinks! My favorite that night: pomegranate vodka with Red Bull.

My visit to Michigan was a paragon of perfection. I would not Butterfly Effect anything about my visit other than the fact that I had to leave and go back to reality. I truly enjoyed myself, even when we just sat around and did nothing, but watch tv.

BTW—Did I tell you that I finally watched the first season of The Walking Dead? He and I both sat around that day and just watched the entire season. Next time, will be season two and may The Avengers if he doesn’t go and see it without me…although I wouldn’t blame if he did. It’s Marvel…that’s a get out of jail free card lol.

Cheers to good times! #TeamofWe

–Ms. KeepingItReal

God's Gift
Leave a Reply

